REVIEW: Battle of the Cleansing Waters // Nature Republic, Garnier, & Bioderma

Happy FriYAY!  Today I am staying home from work due to extreme allergies and so I decided to write up one of my classic “battles of the” posts.  So with a kitty in my lap and a pellegrino by my side, let’s get into it!

Fotor_146496610552833

Cleansing waters are nothing new, but they’ve definitely gained popularity in the past year or so and I’ve noticed tons of new ones popping up.  These are meant to be an all in one makeup remover/cleanser that leaves your skin moisturized.  I am a cleansing freak so I don’t use these as my sole cleanser.  In a pinch, I’ll use them in place of my oil cleanser, but then I’ll still use my second cleanser after.  What I really like using them for is as my cleanser in the morning when I don’t have any makeup to remove and just want to refresh my face and move onto my toner.

Anyways, enough rambling, today I’ll be comparing three different cleansing waters/micellar waters: Nature Repblic Jeju Sparkling Cleansing Water, Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water, & Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micelle Solution.

PACKAGING

All three come in very similar clear plastic bottles so there isn’t much of a difference.  All work just fine.  I appreciate that they are clear so you can see how much product is left.  However, I do find that sometimes the Nature Republic bottle is a bit hard to control and I like that the Bioderma comes in difference sizes which makes it better for travel.

Nature Republic
35

Garnier
4

Bioderma
5

EFFECTIVENESS

DSC08944DSC08954Fotor_14649666359359Fotor_146496670124558

Products used in eye makeup test: Urban Decay Primer Potion, Clio Waterproof Liner Pen in Kill Black, & ColourPop Super Shock Eyeshadow in Birthday Boy

Products used in face/lip makeup test: Too Faced Hangover Rx Primer, Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in 127, Bare Mineral Blemish Remedy Poweder Foundation in 07 Nude, Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Patina, & Make Up For Ever Mist & Fix Setting Spray

*for both tests, I let the makeup sit and set on my arm for about 15mins & then swiped twice with a cotton round moistened with each cleansing water with decent pressure*

In my tests I found that it takes quite a bit of pressure and going over many times with any of the cleansing waters just to remove makeup which is why I usually prefer an oil cleanser for this. In the eye makeup test it seems that Nature Republic and Garnier performed about the same and Bioderma did a little better.  I expected more out of Garnier since I did get the version with the blue cap meant for waterproof makeup.  In the face/lip makeup test, all seemed to perform okay.

Nature Republic
3

Garnier
3

Bioderma
35

VALUE

Nature Republic
about $12 for 510ml = about $0.0235/ml
The prices for this and the Garnier water are quite comparable on the per ml level, but I docked one kitty pile for this since it is more of an investment overall and also because you will probably have to order this online and pay for shipping.  This also comes with a packet of cotton squares if you like them haha.
4

Garnier
about $7 for 400ml = about $0.0175/ml
This is definitely the cheapest option in both the per ml front and overall so 5 kitty piles!
5

Bioderma
about $15 for 250ml = about $0.06/ml
This is the priciest option both per ml and overall, but if you can get these in a store (say in Canada) then there are usually coupons and offers for it so it’s not horrible.
35

AVAILABILITY (from a US buyer POV)

Nature Republic
Available on Nature Republic’s US Site ($19.90 + shipping), KoreaDepart ($12.20 +shipping), RoseRoseShop ($9.78 + shipping), Jolse ($19.53), TesterKorea ($11.65 + shipping), or few Nature Republic Stores in US
3

Garnier
Available at all drugstores (CVS, Walgreens, Rite-Aid, Target, Walmart, etc) & their websites
5

Bioderma
Available on Amazon Prime ($14.60 for 250ml with free one day shipping) & various other online retailers
35

OVERALL

Nature Republic – 3.375
35

Garnier – 4.25
45

Bioderma – 3.875
4

Overall my take away from this is that in the US, if you just want to get into cleansing waters, Garnier is the way to go since it is cheap and easily available.  If you get a chance though, pick up a bottle of Bioderma since I think it works slightly better and isn’t a bad deal if you can get some sort of coupon of free gift with it.  The Nature Republic one just fell short on every aspect of my tests so I don’t think it is worth the hassle to try and get it over overseas (it is also the only one with fragrance).

But with all that said, they all performed relatively similarly and I will be using them all up.  So what do you think?  Have you tried any of these?  Have any cleansing water favorites?  Let me know !

Until next time,
Vy

Disclaimer:  All products/services mentioned and linked to in this post were purchased by me.  There are no sponsored or affiliated links.  All opinions and thoughts are my own.  

 

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Battle of the Cleansing Waters // Nature Republic, Garnier, & Bioderma

Leave a Reply

