REVIEW: CoverGirl Katy Kat Matte Lipsticks

Hi, I’m Vy and I am a crazy cat lady and a makeup addict.  Yup, that’s pretty much what my intro would be like if I was ever set to rehab, so put the two things together and you’ve got me hooked.DSC07794

I walked into Walgreens over the weekend to return a few things and next thing you know, I’m walking out with three lipsticks.  So are these actually any good?  Or did the marketing team just get me real good?  Read on to find out.

These reminded me a lot of the CoverGirl Colorlicious Lipsticks.  They have the same shaped packaging and the same smell (floral/soap-y), and texture.  It seems really like they used that formula and changed the packaging and added some new colors and names for Katy Perry.

That aside, these aren’t bad lipsicks although I have to say they aren’t really matte.  Because I bought these mostly for the names and cat aspect, that didn’t really bother me, but if you’re looking for a true matte, you’ll definitely be disappointed.  These go on relatively smoothly and don’t dry out my lips too much as a true matte would.  They’re more of a cream finish than a matte.

The wear on them was about average which is to be expected because they weren’t marketed as long-lasting or anything.  On me they seemed to last about 3 hours without eating.

DSC07796DSC07800PhotoGrid_1462808229982

Overall, I’d say if you like cats and want a cute cream finish lipstick, pick one or two up in a color you like, but these aren’t the most amazing things ever.

Packaging
4
the packaging is nice and clean and I love that you can see the colors easily through the bottom of the tube.  my only problem with these is that the white cap/body is rubberized so it’s gonna get dirty real quick if you’re keeping these in a makeup bag; even just having them out for a bit to swatch, I already got some lipstick stains on them and I’m a pretty neat person

Cuteness
4
these are adroable, I love the kitty ears on the color name and also the names themselves, like come on, “pink paws?”  I didn’t stand a chance

Value
3
at about $8 to $10 these are a bit on the steep end for a drugstore lipstick, but definitely not as bad as anything you’d prob find at Sephora

Effectiveness
4
these lipsticks work fine if you’re not looking for SUPER matte lips, but if you’re looking for a pretty matte lipstick that glides on smooth and won’t dry out your lips too much, these are gonna be great for you

Availability
4
you can get these at most drugstores/their websites (Walgreens, Rite-Aid, CVS, Target, Walmart, etc.) or drugstore.com which is a good range of availability, although I took one kitty off since the displays I’ve seen have been pretty sparse so you may have trouble if these are popular in your area

Overall
4
3.8 out of 5 Kitty Piles
(lets pretend the last kitty’s tail is blacked out)

Disclaimer:  All products mentioned and linked to in this post were purchased by me.  There are no sponsored or affiliated links.  All opinions and thoughts are my own.  

One thought on “REVIEW: CoverGirl Katy Kat Matte Lipsticks

  1. stashy says:

    I was wondering about these. I’m kind of glad they’re not super matte. But the white lids kind of annoy me for some reason – like they’d get dirty fast! The labels are the bottom are too cute though, with the cat ears!

    Like

Leave a Reply

