REVIEW: Battle of the Liquid Eyeliners // Clio, The Face Shop, & Physicians Formula

Hello all!  It has been a while, but I’m back!  Today I’m doing a sort of throwback post. Long time followers of mine will remember from my old blog that I used to do “battle” posts.  Well today I’m doing just that.  I’ll be comparing three liquid eyeliner pens; two from Asian beauty brands and one from a western brand.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

So who is gonna win?  The super hyped Clio Waterproof Liner Pen in Kill Black?  The relatively unhyped Ink Graffi Brush Pen Liner from The Face Shop?  Or my long time favorite, Physicians Formula’s Eye Booster 2-in-1 Lash Boosting Eyeliner + Serum?  Read on to find out.

Packaging

Processed with VSCO with 4 presetAll three come in very similar packaging and even with similar brushes.  They all have the plastic type of brush tip that I find to be the easiest to control and least likely to dry out.  Overall in this department, all are winners.

Clio
4
The Face Shop
4
Physicians Formula
4

EffectivenessIMG_20160326_181013
BeautyPlus_20160326180314_saveBeautyPlus_20160326180401_save
When initially swatched, all three are a great dark black and all have a veryyyyy slight sheen.  When I ran water over them and rubbed quite a bit, they all still held up well.  There was no noticeable difference until I rubbed super hard (way harder than I would ever rub on my delicate eye skin).  At this point, it was clear that the Clio liner held up the best.  The Face Shop and Physicians Formula came in second and third respectively.

Clio
5
The Face Shop
4
Physicians Formula
3 

Value
Clio $16-20
This is on the higher end for a liner and definitely a price tag I would associate with being a liner from Sephora or a department store brand.  It did perform the best, but I’m not sure by enough for me to justify this price.
3

The Face Shop $6-8
It appears that for the lowest price, we are able to get the second best performance, which is a great steal in my book.
4

Physicians Formula $9
With the mid-range price tag out of the three and performing the least well, I can’t really give this one a good rating.
2

Availability – From a US buyer point of view
Clio
Available on various online retailers & a few Clio stores (mostly in the NY area)
Clio, SokoGlam, & AmazonPrime
4

The Face Shop
Available on various online retailers & a various The Face Shop Stores (spread through US)
RoseRoseShop & Amazon
4

Physicians Formula
Available at any drugstore, Target, Walmart, etc…
drugstore.com
5

Overall
Clio
4
4 out 5 Kitty Piles

The Face Shop
4
4 out 5 Kitty Piles

Physicians Formula
35
3.5 out 5 Kitty
Piles

Overall my take away from this is that if you have very oily lids and need very waterproof/durable eyeliner and can afford it, the Clio liner wins out.  If you want a liner that still performs great, but is a tiny bit less long-lasting, the The Face Shop liner is a great value.  Lastly, the Physicians Formula one was underwhelming compared to the Asian Beauty alternatives.

Disclaimer:  All products mentioned and linked to in this post were purchased by me.  There are no sponsored or affiliated links.  All opinions and thoughts are my own.  

8 thoughts on “REVIEW: Battle of the Liquid Eyeliners // Clio, The Face Shop, & Physicians Formula

  1. Jess says:

    Great review! I actually reviewed the Clio Brush Liner a while back and I think it’s a great deal when you can get it discounted considering the lasting power! I noticed if you let it set for a couple minutes before washing it, it ends up holding up better against water and smudging. I’ll have to check out that Face Shop eyeliner, it sounds great!

    Also, can I ask how you got those kitty pile rating systems, and the rating systems in general? I’ve been trying to find out how to get them on a free account, and they only seem to work with plugins which you need a paid account for…(also the kitty on the bottom is super adorable! (:

    – Jess x | http://amessofjess.wordpress.com

    Like

    • vvml1007 says:

      Haha yeah I don’t think it’s so bad if you get it with the free mascara and on amazon prime with two day free shipping. However I wanted to review it as is and not with these conditions since not everyone might be able to get it at that price.

      I actually created the kitty pile system myself. As in I designed the graphics and have an image of all possible ratings (0-5,in 0.5 increments) and insert them as photos on my blog.

      Thanks for your detail comment and for checking out my blog!

      Like

  2. Ayu says:

    The Physician’s Formula liner made my lashes grow noticeably longer though (esp lower lashes), which I doubt these other 2 would do

    Like

    • vvml1007 says:

      Ah I forgot to mention that. I’ve been using the physicians formula one for 5 years now and I haven’t noticed any difference in my lashes so in that aspect it’s a fluke for me.

      Like

  3. emilysdaily says:

    First off, I love your kitty system. So cute! I love Clio, it is insanely everything proof! Downside is how hard it is to remove it… Have you tried Clio’s brow pen? It literally does not budge either.

    Like

    • vvml1007 says:

      Haha thanks! I’m just a crazy cat lady (:

      I’ve tried their brow tattoo/mascara combo if that’s what you mean. I really like it, but sometimes I’m lazy to tint my brows the night before haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

