REVIEW: Olivia Palermo x Ciaté London Smokey Suedes Eye Palette

I bought this palette about two months ago and something has been nagging me to write this review for the entire time so I thought it would make sense that this is my first post on this blog.

20151109_222717

I didn’t look for any reviews on this palette before buying it, but now I realize that I couldn’t have even if I wanted to.  There really aren’t that many  out there so I hope this is helpful.For those of you who don’t know, Olivia Palermo is a socialite.  And although she is very pretty, I usually expect collaborations to be with models or beauty gurus when it comes to makeup products.  Her limited edition collection with Ciate includes a vast number of nail polishes, lipsticks, cheek duos, and two eyeshadow palettes.

I personally chose the Smokey Suedes palette because I thought the colors were more suited to my brown eyes and love for neutrals (the olive is about as far from my neutrals as I’ll stray.)  I should also note that I only purchased this because I wanted to keep my VIB status at Sephora so I didn’t have massive expectations for it, espcially since Ciate has only recently started producing makeup products.

compare size

Size Comparison vs Too Faced Lipstick, Naked 3 Palette, & The Face Shop Cushion

As you can see from above, the palette is actually quite small in comparison to say a lipstick or a Naked palette, but I actually like this because it makes it great for travel.  Speaking of which, the packaging is quite sturdy and sleek and it includes a matte highlight which make it a winner for me travel-wise.

flashies

Pans With Flash

olivia no flash

No Flash

olivia flash

With Flash

The eye shadows themselves are on the slightly less pigmented side when swatched relative to most high end eye shadows, especially the mattes, but when on the eyes, I don’t notice too much of this.  They are also buttery smooth and I think the OP and bow imprint are adorable.

Overall, I’d recommend this palette if you have $39 to spare and don’t expect extremely pigmented eye shadows.  It isn’t a bad palette, in fact, I’ve been using it most days since I’ve gotten it and even brought it to San Francisco with me, but it isn’t amazing either.

Packaging
4
sturdy, compact, and with a huge mirror

Cuteness
3
the shadows have cute food names (mostly) and the bow imprint is adorable

Value
3
not great value for money, but also not extremely overpriced either

Effectiveness
4
great neutrals that can be used everyday, but not the most pigmented

Availability
4
limited edition and currently available on Sephora or Ciate for $39

Overall
35
3.6 out of 5 Kitty Piles

Disclaimer:  All products mentioned and linked to in this post were purchased by me.  There are no sponsored or affiliated links.  All opinions and thoughts are my own.  

Leave a Reply

